You are here

Wind Riders #1: Rescue on Turtle Beach (Paperback)

Wind Riders #1: Rescue on Turtle Beach Cover Image
By Jen Marlin, Izzy Burton (Illustrator)
$5.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 1 1:33am
(Chapter Books)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Wind Riders series.

Description


Hop aboard Wind Rider, a magical sailboat, with Max and Sofia, two kids trying to save the environment one problem at a time. Their first mission? Rescuing baby sea turtles in the beautiful waters of Hawaii.

Max and Sofia are ordinary kids whose lives are changed when they discover an abandoned sailboat. They’re given the chance to make a real impact when the boat magically brings them them to a different corner of the world to help other kids save their environment!

Wind Riders: Rescue on Turtle Beach is the first book in an illustrated chapter book series about Max and Sofia’s adventures tackling real world problems. Each story visits a new location and introduces a human-made problem endangering animals and the environment.

With nature’s highest stakes and environmental activism baked into each book, as well as fun scientific facts included at the end, Wind Riders promises to be the chapter book series for newly independent readers who love nature documentaries and are hungry to learn about the world around them.

There is beautiful two-color art throughout and an emphasis on collaborative problem-solving, compassion for the Earth and all its inhabitants, and friendship. The books are printed on partially recycled paper. Wind Riders is the perfect STEM chapter book series for fans of Magic Tree House, The Magic School Bus, and Zoey and Sassafras.

About the Author


Jen Marlin lives in an old wooden cabin by the sea, where she spends her days writing, rock climbing, and taking trips in her dinghy. She wishes it was as magical as Wind Rider! In the evenings she likes to go litter picking on her local beach or kick back by the fire with a good book and her scruffy dog, Darwin.



Izzy Burton is an artist and award-winning animation director. She grew up in the beautiful English countryside with the desire to be a zoologist or marine biologist, and her art and stories always gravitate back to animals and nature. Izzy currently works at Netflix as a Lead Artist and fills the rest of her time illustrating books and walking along Brighton beach. To find more of her work, visit her at www.izzyburton.co.uk. 

Praise For…


"Learn about present-day environmental threats to wildlife in fast-paced, entertaining adventures. Engaging, positive, and informative—perfect for newly minted chapter-book readers."
Kirkus Reviews

“A new young reader chapter book series that promises to focus on manmade environmental issues. It features illustrations on almost every page and a simple, easy-to-follow story...Readers will learn scientific facts in a way that is informative but not didactic...This fun, imaginative series is similar to “The Magic Treehouse”.
— School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780063029248
ISBN-10: 0063029243
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 19th, 2021
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: Wind Riders