You are here

From the Basement: A History of Emo Music and How It Changed Society (Music History and Punk Rock Book, for Fans of Everybody Hurts, Smas (Paperback)

From the Basement: A History of Emo Music and How It Changed Society (Music History and Punk Rock Book, for Fans of Everybody Hurts, Smas Cover Image
$18.95
At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days

Description


#1 New Release in Punk and Music Philosophy & Social Aspects, Theory, Composition & Performance ─ A Look at the History of the Emo and Indie Music Era

Explore the cultural, social, and psychological factors surrounding the genres. Though songs can be timeless, music is often a result of the era in which it was created. The 2000s in music gave rise to indie, emo, and punk rock, carrying an emotional tone that has resonated with listeners ever since. Originally appealing to a small selection of music lovers, this music era now holds a significant place in the history of rock.

The relationship between music and mental health. Music leaves its mark on the world by touching the hearts and minds of its creators and listeners. This book explores that connection and takes a look at what emo, alternative, and indie music did for the mental health of musicians and listeners.

Inside stories from the music legends themselves. The voices of the rock musicians who contributed to these genres of music are just as important now as they were then. Author Taylor Markarian includes both her own interviews with bands and those from outside sources to provide an oral history and offer an authentic portrayal of these underground arts.

Markarian's book offers a comprehensive look into genres of music that have been simultaneously mocked and admired. Discover in From the Basement:

  • The beauty and legitimacy of the gritty, wailing music that evolved into indie, alternative, and emo
  • Insights from conversations with favorite emo/indie bands of the time
  • The impact these genres have had on the millennial generation and today's pop culture and mental health
  • Extensive coverage of bands like Save the Day, Dashboard Confessional, and My Chemical Romance

If books such as Please Kill Me, American Hardcore, Meet Me in the Bathroom, and Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs have rocked your world, then From the Basement: A History of Emo Music and How It Changed Society should be your next read.


Please note: A batch of printed copies mislabeled the band Hot Water Music as How Water Music. If you received a copy with this issue, please contact support@mango.bz to recieve a corrected copy of the book.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781642501148
ISBN-10: 164250114X
Publisher: Mango
Publication Date: October 15th, 2019
Pages: 226
Language: English