VIRTUAL: Debbi Michiko Florence and Josephine Cameron

Saturday, June 5, 2021 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm

REGISTER HERE
Hosted via Zoom

Debbi Michiko Florence and Josephine Cameron will discuss the importance of creating support systems – as writers and for the characters in their middle grade novels. Join us as we celebrate the release of Debbi’s Keep It Together, Keiko Carter in paperback and the launch of Josephine’s Not All Heroes.

KEEP IT TOGETHER, KEIKO CARTER by Debbi Michiko Florence: Fans of Wendy Mass and Lisa Greenwald are sure to fall head-over-heels for this sweet story about first crushes, friendship drama, and finding the courage to stand up for yourself. Seventh grade is supposed to be a game changer. And Keiko thinks she's got it covered, especially with Audrey and Jenna by her side to shop for a new look, pick out a prime lunch spot, and even hit up that cute new bubble tea place after school. Her trio is ready to tackle life as they always have... together. But when Audrey decides they need boyfriends before Fall Ball, it looks like things may be changing in all the wrong ways. Jenna is sick of caving in to Audrey's demands, and soon Keiko's besties are barely talking, leaving her caught in the middle. While she's been dreaming about triple dates, first kisses, and a boy she really shouldn't have a crush on, the friendship she's always thought was rock-solid is beginning to crumble. Keiko feels pulled in two directions. Should she try to help her friends -- even if it means losing one of them -- or follow her heart? When it comes to flirting, friendships, and fallouts, how is Keiko supposed to keep it all together?

NOT ALL HEROES by Josephine Cameron:  Even though her family moved across the country for a “fresh start” after her little brother’s death, eleven-year-old Zinnia Helinski still feels like she’s stuck waiting for her new life to begin. Then she spots her new neighbor, Kris, climbing down the fire escape of their apartment building. He’s wearing a black eye mask! And Spandex leggings. . . . And a blue body suit?  Soon Zinnia finds herself in a secret club for kids who want to be heroes. The Reality Shifters don’t have superpowers, but they do have the power to make positive change in their neighborhoods. And a change is just what Zinn.

We expect all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Anyone who violates this standard of behavior including engaging in any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

Print: A Bookstore
273 Congress Street
Portland, ME 04101
Keep It Together, Keiko Carter: A Wish  Novel: A Wish Novel By Debbi Michiko Florence Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338607574
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Arrives in 2 to 5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - May 4th, 2021

Not All Heroes By Josephine Cameron Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374314439
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - May 18th, 2021