Pre-Order Betty Culley's THE NATURAL GENIUS OF ANTS & THE NAME SHE GAVE ME

Print: A Bookstore is proud to be working with Maine author Betty Culley in support of her forthcoming books, The Natural Genius of Ants and The Name She Gave Me. All copies will be signed by the author and can be personalized—make sure to include your request in the checkout section!

Headshot of Betty CulleyBetty Culley is the acclaimed author of the middle-grade novel Down to Earth, which received a starred review from Booklist who called it “captivating,” and the YA novel in verse, Three Things I Know Are True, which was a Kids’ Indie Next List Top Ten Pick and an ALA- YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee. When writing The Natural Genius of Ants, she kept an ant farm and cared for a carpenter ant queen. She’s worked as a pediatric nurse and lives in a small town in central Maine. For more information, visit www.bettyculley.com.

Cover image for THE NATURAL GENIUS OF ANTSThe Natural Genius of Ants publishing May 10th, 2022 from Crown Books for Young Readers


A summer ant farm grows into a learning experience for the entire family in this lyrical coming-of-age story from the award-winning author of Down to Earth.

Harvard is used to his father coming home from the hospital and telling him about all the babies he helped. But since he made the mistake at work, Dad has been quieter than usual. And now he is taking Harvard and his little brother, Roger, to Kettle Hole, Maine, for the summer. Harvard hopes this trip isn’t another mistake.  
 
In the small town where he grew up, Dad seems more himself. Especially once the family decides to start an ant farm--just like Dad had as a kid! But when the mail-order ants are D.O.A., Harvard doesn't want Dad to experience any more sadness. Luckily, his new friend Neveah has the brilliant idea to use the ants crawling around the kitchen instead. But these insects don't come with directions. So the kids have a lot to learn--about the ants, each other, and how to forgive ourselves when things go wrong.

Cover image for THE NAME SHE GAVE METhe Name She Gave Me publishing June 21st, 2022 from HarperTeen


A heartbreakingly beautiful novel in verse about adoption, family, friendship, and love in all its many forms, perfect for fans of Robin Benway and Jandy Nelson, from the acclaimed author of Three Things I Know Are True.

Rynn was born with a hole in her heart—literally. Although it was fixed long ago, she still feels an emptiness there when she wonders about her birth family.

As her relationship with her adoptive mother fractures, Rynn finally decides she needs to know more about the rest of her family. Her search starts with a name, the only thing she has from her birth mother, and she quickly learns that she has a younger sister living in foster care in a nearby town. But if Rynn reconnects with her biological sister, it may drive her adoptive family apart for good.

This powerful story uncovers both beautiful and heartbreaking truths and explores how challenging, yet healing, family can be.

The Natural Genius of Ants Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593175774
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - May 10th, 2022

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Name She Gave Me Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063157835
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperTeen - June 21st, 2022