Pre-Order Bill Roorbach's LUCKY TURTLE

Print: A Bookstore is proud to be working with Maine author Bill Roorbach in support of his forthcoming novel, Lucky Turtle. All copies will be signed by the author and can be personalized - make sure to include your note in the checkout section!

“Two great love affairs—one between characters, the other with the wilds of Montana as its original inhabitants knew it—surge through this engaging, audacious novel. Every page hums with life and energy.” —Andrea Barrett, author of The Voyage of the Narwhal and Archangel

When sixteen-year-old Cindra Zoeller is sent to a reform camp in Montana, she’s a privileged white girl who has evaded more severe punishment for her crime. Even at Camp Challenge, she gets special treatment. While there, she becomes transfixed by Lucky, a watchful, capable, and mysterious camp employee. As the connection between them grows, Lucky and Cindra become lovers and escape into the Rocky Mountains to create an idyllic life, living off Lucky’s vast knowledge of the wilderness.

But they can run from the outside world for only so long, and the consequences of their naïve fantasy of a future together—and circumstances shaped by skin color—will keep them apart for decades. Lucky goes to prison, and Cindra becomes trapped in a relationship where she is both cosseted and carefully surveilled, controlled and defined by a man who claims to be her rescuer. For Cindra, there will never be another Lucky, and she dreams of one day finding him, the only man she’s ever fully trusted, her soulmate.

For readers of Richard Russo, Jane Smiley, and John Irving, Lucky Turtle is a deeply engrossing love story from one of our most entertaining and perceptive writers.

Bill Roorbach is the author of five previous books of fiction, including The Girl of the Lake; Kirkus Prize finalist The Remedy for Love; the bestselling Life Among Giants (which won a Maine Literary Award in Fiction); and the Flannery O’Connor Prize-winning collection, Big Bend. His memoir in nature, Temple Stream, won the Maine Literary Award in nonfiction, and along with Into Woods is available in a new edition from Down East Books. Roorbach has received fellowships from the Civitella Ranieri Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. He held the William H. P. Jenks Chair in Contemporary American Letters at the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, MA from 2004-2009.  His craft book, Writing Life Stories, has been in print for nearly 25 years. His writing has appeared in Harper’s, The New York Times Magazine, The Atlantic, Ploughshares, Granta, Ecotone, New York Magazine, and elsewhere. He writes full-time now and lives in Scarborough and Farmington with his wife, painter Juliet Karelsen, and daughter, actor and dancer Elysia Roorbach, now a student at NYU Tisch. Which is expensive, so buy a lot of books!

Lucky Turtle Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781643750972
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves
Published: Algonquin Books - April 26th, 2022