You are here

Staff Picks

Since no one can see our staff pick shelves in person, here they are virtually. Enjoy!

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Deadly Education: A Novel (The Scholomance #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593128480
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Del Rey - September 29th, 2020

A magic system unlike others I've read with a cool steampunk-Hogwarts vibe. El is a great protagonist through whose cranky eyes we get to see the real destruction a school's hero can cause. - Gracie


Staff Pick Badge
The Museum of Whales You Will Never See: And Other Excursions to Iceland's Most Unusual Museums Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780143135463
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2020

Such a stunning book filled with stunning writing. A book that will transport you to Iceland when you can't actually go! - Gracie


Staff Pick Badge
Intimations: Six Essays Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9780593297612
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - July 28th, 2020

The audiobook is one of the best I've listened to this year, and it's really lovely to have someone else's meditations about the current times just ruminating around in your head. And also, it's Zadie Smith, so duh it's amazing. - Gracie


Pre-Order Now Badge
Avatar: The Last Airbender  The Art of the Animated Series (Second Edition) Cover Image
$39.99
ISBN: 9781506721699
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Dark Horse Books - November 24th, 2020

This series has obviously seen a big resurgence since it's placement on Netflix, but regardless of when you came to love this show/world, this book is so beautiful and fascinating and just the most comforting read. - Gracie


Staff Pick Badge
Do What You Want: The Story of Bad Religion Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780306922220
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - August 18th, 2020

Since forming 40 years ago, Bad Religion has seen the rise and fall ...and rise... and fall... of punk music. In this authorized biography, author Jim Ruland tells the story of California's greatest and most enduring punk outfit. With full access to the band (excepting former guitarist Greg Hetson) this reads more like an oral history then a straight biography, and comes out better for it. Just try to resist putting on one of the bands 20+ albums while tearing through this book. Yeah hey! - Josh


Staff Pick Badge
Beowulf: A New Translation Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374110031
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - August 25th, 2020

Bro! In this new translation of Beowulf, Maria Dahvana Headley breathes verve and wit into one of our oldest stories. Headley is an adept translator, and the alliterative and onomatopoeic work vibrates with life. It also offers new perspectives on the female characters, particularly Grendel's mother. If, like me, you struggled to get through more traditional translations, give this one a shot. - Josh


Pre-Order Now Badge
Snacky Tunes: Music is the Main Ingredient, Chefs and Their Music Cover Image
By Darin Bresnitz, Greg Bresnitz, Khuong Phan (Contributions by), Jeff Gordinier (Contributions by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781838661366
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Phaidon Press - October 14th, 2020

In 2009, twin brothers Darin and Greg Bresnitz launched Snacky Tunes, the radio show celebrating the intersection of food and music. This book is a print companion to that project, collecting dozens of interviews, playlists, and recipes from chefs around the world. It provides endless kitchen inspiration, all tied together in a stunning package from arts publisher Phaidon. - Josh


Staff Pick Badge
Anxious People: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501160837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - September 8th, 2020

The delicacy and intricacy with which Backman weaves his storytelling is nothing short of astounding. He guides his characters through trauma and grief with kindness and tenderness in such a way that makes his newest novel impossible to put down. A boost for the soul in these anxious times; this is a story to savor and share. - Becca 


Staff Pick Badge
The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316539531
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Just finished reading this one aloud to my five-year-old and while a bit went over his head (probably more approprate for age 7 and up), we both couldn't get enough. Seemingly a story of adventure on a magical train with talking animals, Grossman sneaks in messages about climate change, conservation, environmental responsibility in a way that is direct, yet hopeful. Filled with illustrations and silliness, I can't recommend it enough. - Becca


Staff Pick Badge
How Much of These Hills Is Gold: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525537205
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 7th, 2020

I'm about 50 pages in an can't wait to leave work to get back to it. (I work at a bookstore, so that should tell you something all on its own.) Zhang's writing is submersive from the start - enveloping you in the imagery of the American West from the perspective of two recently orphaned siblings. I have no idea where the story is going, so I can make to guarantees, but it has also been longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, so I'm clearly not the only fan out there! -Becca


Staff Pick Badge
Nothing to See Here Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062913494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - September 1st, 2020

Told from the perspective of Lillian, the new nanny (with no prior experience) to two kids that spontaneously combust when agitated, "Nothing to See Here" is magic from the start. A somehow realistic and tender look at child-rearing, home-making, and acceptance, this story meant so much to me as a clueless and "I'm just going to wing it and hope for the best" mother of two young kids. - Becca


Staff Pick Badge
I Am Every Good Thing Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525518778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

From the creators of Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, this new picture book celebrates the joy and pride of a young Black boy. It inspires readers of all ages to think of what they love about themselves and to not hesitate to shout it to the world, something that can be particularly challenging as days get shorter and continue to be filled with unexpected twists. - Steph


Staff Pick Badge
More to the Story Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481492102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - September 8th, 2020

A modern interpretation of Little Women focused on an American Muslim family living in Georgia, you can feel how much the author loves the original classic as she brings this timeless story into a new era. The Mirza family is charming and warm, supporting each other through every new journey and welcoming readers into the comfort of their home. - Steph


Staff Pick Badge
Amelia Westlake Was Never Here Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316450683
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Poppy - May 19th, 2020

Harriet Price, picture perfect student, and Will Everhart, outspoken troublemaker, can't stand each other--so how did they end up teaming up to take down the patriarchy at their prestigious school? The two girls create a fake student, Amelia Westlake, to be their voice of change, but before they know it their partnership begins to blossom into something more. - Steph


Staff Pick Badge
Wandering in Strange Lands: A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062873040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - August 4th, 2020

I am absolutely 100% blown away by this book.  Part memoir, part history, Morgan Jerkins travels the U.S. to research her roots in America.  Born and raised in New Jersey, Jerkins realizes in adulthood how little she knows of her family history -- what do her traditions mean and where do they come from?  These seemingly "simple" questions are anything but and what Jerkins creates is nothing short of astonishing.  The oral history of black America as told through the Great Migration ---- the personal is brilliantly mixed here with the widely ignored history (by white history books at least) of black people in the U.S.  This book needs to be taught in every school in America.  It's that good. - Emily


Staff Pick Badge
Greenwood: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781984822000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - February 25th, 2020

Perfect for fans of THE OVERSTORY, GREENWOOD takes place in the not too distant future when an event known as "The Withering" has destroyed most of the world's forests.  The last living forest (located in Canada) has become a sanctuary where only the very wealthy can visit.  We follow Jake Greenwood, a botanist and defacto tour guide for the preserve, as she learns that her connection to the GREENWOOD FOREST may stronger than originally known. - Emily


Pre-Order Now Badge
Leave the World Behind: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062667632
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ecco - October 6th, 2020

This one is just deliciously eerie.  A young NYC family rents a house in remote part of Long Island for a week.  Less than 48 hours into their stay, there's a knock on the door.  A couple, claiming to be the owners of the house, arrive saying there's been a massive blackout in NYC (no internet, no phones) and ask the family if they can stay until the blackout is over. But are they who they say they are?  Are any of them who they are? - Emily