You are here

Staff Picks

Since no one can see our staff pick shelves in person, here they are virtually. Enjoy!

They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us Cover Image
By Hanif Abdurraqib, Eve L. Ewing (Foreword by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781937512651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - November 7th, 2017

Alex's pick. First sentence: "When Marvin Gaye sang the National Anthem at the 1983 NBA All-Star Game, he knew he was going to die soon." 


Homegoing Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101971062
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

Alex's pick. First sentence: "The night Effia Otcher was born into the musky heat of Fanteland, a fire raged through the woods just outside her father's compound."


We Were Eight Years in Power: An American Tragedy Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399590573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - October 30th, 2018

Alex's pick. First sentence: "This story began, as all writing must, in failure."


The Book of Night Women Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594484360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 2nd, 2010

Alex's pick. First sentence: "People think blood red, but blood don't got no color."


The Beautiful Ones Cover Image
By Prince
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399589652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - October 29th, 2019

Alex's pick. First sentence: "My mother's eyes: that's the 1st thing eye can remember. " 


The Tradition Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556594861
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 2nd, 2019

Brown won the 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for this collection, which wrestles with the terror and violence in our daily lives. If you’re looking for poetry that meets this moment, you need this book. - Josh


Our Time Is Now: Power, Purpose, and the Fight for a Fair America Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250257703
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - June 9th, 2020

Abrams’ newest offers a path to ending voter suppression and empowering the citizens in our democracy. The accomplished leader and entrepreneur (and Vice Presidential frontrunner) combines inspiration and practical solutions as few can. - Josh


We Cast a Shadow: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525509073
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - February 4th, 2020

One of my favorite novels of the last few years, We Cast a Shadow imagines a near-future Southern city that reads as a logical extension of the racial issues and police violence our country has long grappled with. As Roxane Gay put it, it’s a novel we should all “read and heed.” - Josh


Penny and Her Song (I Can Read Level 1) Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780062081971
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 21st, 2012

Greta (aged 3) can't get enough of any and all Kevin Henkes, but particularly his Penny series. Cozy and quick tellings of a little mouse and her daily doings. Simple and sweet, yet engaging. - Becca

Also featured in this series: Penny and her Doll and Penny and her Sled 


There is a Bird on Your Head! (An Elephant and Piggie Book) Cover Image
By Mo Willems, Mo Willems (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781423106869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - September 1st, 2007

A family favorite for instant kid giggles. You can't go wrong with Mo Willems. - Becca 


Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras #1) Cover Image
By Asia Citro, Marion Lindsay (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781943147090
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Innovation Press - March 14th, 2017

Theo (aged 5) just discovered Zoey and Sassafras. A kid scientist who helps magical creatures that come to her barn for help? Count us in. Even better, Asia Citro details proper use of the scientific method in all of Zoey's experiments. - Becca

Also featured in this series: Monsters and Mold, Merhorses and Bubbles, Caterflies and Ice, The Pod and the Bog, Unicorns and Germs, Grumplets and Pests


Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants: The Questioneers Book #2 Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781419734229
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - April 16th, 2019

Ada Twist, Rosie Revere, Iggy Peck, and Sophia Valdez are back in Andrea Beaty's new Questioneers chapter book series and they do not disappoint! - Becca & Theo (age 5)

Also in this series: Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riviters and Iggy Peck and the Mysterious Mansion


The Beauty Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781785655746
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Titan Books - January 16th, 2018

The cover alone was enough to sell me on this dystopian novel where women have turned into fungus. Fungus! - Gracie


Girl Waits with Gun (A Kopp Sisters Novel #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780544800830
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Mariner Books - May 3rd, 2016

If you haven't gotten into Amy Stewart yet, this is a treat you must add to your quarantine reads. - Gracie


After Me Comes the Flood: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062666406
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Custom House - March 17th, 2020

 Essex Serpent was one of my favorites, and Sarah Perry's following two books have not disappointed! - Gracie


Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

I can't believe I haven't read this yet, but now that I have *more time* it is at the top of my pile! - Gracie


The Parker Inheritance (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545952781
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

A perfect summer mystery for middle grade readers about new friendship, redemption, and exposing the racist history a town would rather forget. - Steph


Her Royal Highness (Royals #2) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524738280
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2020

Millie Quint is the embodiment of all my childhood dreams of running away to a fancy boarding school in a foreign country to find yourself and find true love, and I adored every moment of her journey in HER ROYAL HIGHNESS. Every small nod to PRINCE CHARMING brought a smile to my lips, and yet Millie and Flora stand entirely on their own--a complex and developing romance trying to figure itself amidst the international pressure of crowns and tabloids. - Steph


Heartstopper: Volume 1 Cover Image
By Alice Oseman, Alice Oseman (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338617436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - May 5th, 2020

This is one of those graphic novels that I would periodically shout at whoever was closest "OH MY GOD THEY DID THIS AND SAID THAT AND AHHHH!" as I rolled around the floor in an overabundance of feelings. Everyone needs to pick it up, and I can't wait to check out Alice Oseman's YA novels soon. - Steph


The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385544252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 25th, 2019

A riveting family saga perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.  Over the course of several decades, we follow the Sorenson family: Marilyn, David and their four daughters.  A long-held secret comes to the surface in the early chapters and as novel moves forward we go back-and-forth in time to discover how we got there.  It's a beautiful exploration of love and family and my words here don't even come close to doing it justice.  It's simply marvelous. - Emily 


Long Bright River: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525540670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 7th, 2020

Two sisters in Philly.  One's a cop, the other is suffering from the opioid epidemic.  The sisters haven't spoken in months, but as bodies of known women struggling with addiction start to surface, Mickey (the cop) risks everything to find her sister.  This is a really meaty mystery, great for fans of Tana French.  - Emily


All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020

I love Emma Straub.  Similar to The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo, it's a sweeping family saga about secrets, the mistakes we make, misperceptions, and devotion. - Emily


Braised Pork Cover Image
By An Yu
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802148711
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - April 14th, 2020

If you're looking for something like THE VEGETARIAN or FEVER DREAM, this is your next book.  Jia Jia finds her husband in the bathtub, dead, and in a compromising position. He's clutching a drawing of a creature, half man/half fish that Jia Jia (an artist) becomes obsessed with finding the origins of. -Emily