You are here

Staff Picks

Some recent favorites our staff can't wait to talk to you about!

Staff Pick Badge
Kids on Bikes RPG Cover Image
By Renegade Game Studios (Created by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780997671193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
This book cannot be returned.
Published: Renegade Game Studios - June 24th, 2021

Curious about how this game plays? Check out Print: A Bookstore booksellers Rachael and Steph playing through a round of Kids on Bikes on a special episode of the Misshelved podcast!


Staff Pick Badge
Boyz n the Void: a mixtape to my brother Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780807059487
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beacon Press - May 11th, 2021

Asim’s Boyz in the Void, a collection of epistolary essays structured around a punk playlist, recalls no book more than Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between the World and Me. Speaking to his younger brother about Blackness, masculinity, and otherness, Asim connects his experience as a thirtysomething Black man with his Gen Z sibling’s life. Filtered through the lens of punk and straight edge culture - a cliquey and predominantly white scene - the book combines sharp observation and insight with dynamite music criticism.


Staff Pick Badge
Seek You: A Journey Through American Loneliness (Pantheon Graphic Library) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781524748067
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - July 13th, 2021

Ever since listening to Ezra Klein’s interview with Vivek Murthy about the loneliness epidemic in America, I’ve been fascinated with exploring the mental, physical, and societal effects of loneliness. In her graphic novel Seek You, Radke dives deeply into the topic. Mixing personal experience with science, biography, and current affairs, the book beautifully explores why we’re lonely, what it’s doing to us, and what we can do about it.


Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

Imagine that to join the Men in Black you have to attend a Camp Half-Blood style summer camp that is hosted inside the Ministry of Magic and you’ll begin to understand the challenge in front of Amari. Her new powers have been deemed too dangerous to train, but if she doesn’t make it through to the end of the summer she might never find out about the truth of what happened to her older brother. This is the beginning of an exciting new adventure series filled with heart and determination that is sure to become a favorite in every middle grade collection. — Steph


Staff Pick Badge
Greenwood: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984822017
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - February 9th, 2021

Perfect for fans of THE OVERSTORY, GREENWOOD takes place in the not too distant future when an event known as "The Withering" has destroyed most of the world's forests.  The last living forest (located in Canada) has become a sanctuary where only the very wealthy can visit.  We follow Jake Greenwood, a botanist and defacto tour guide for the preserve, as she learns that her connection to the GREENWOOD FOREST may be stronger than originally known. — Emily


Staff Pick Badge
Swimming Lessons Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941040935
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - January 9th, 2018

As with every Claire Fuller book I've read (and I highly recommend them all), her beautiful prose, complicated characters, and intricate plots drew me into the world and consumed me completely. You'll get lost in the lives of these characters that are so effortlessly stretched out before you through the letters from the characters' pasts and their present day struggles as truths about their family are revealed. It's engaging and enchanting, and you'll think about it long after you've finished it. — Konner


Staff Pick Badge
Transcendent Kingdom: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525658184
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Knopf - September 1st, 2020

A stunning, heartbreaking novel of the opioid epidemic.  While it pulls no punches, it is simultaneously breathtakingly honest and generous.   In writing about the place where faith and science meet and rub up against one another, Gyasi manages to capture that confusion? emptiness? beauty? where neither faith nor science alone can provide the necessary answers to healing grief.  — Emily


Staff Pick Badge
The Deep Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525537922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 23rd, 2021

Maybe it's COVID, maybe it's me, but I've been leaning hard into mysteries and horror stories lately.  THE DEEP combines this clearly twisted need of mine to consume stories worse than the timeline we're currently living (why, I don't know...your guess is as good as mine) with my teenage obsession with the ill-fated Titanic.  Alma Katsu's THE DEEP takes on the well-known story of the sinking of the Titanic, but adds a twist -- what if the ship was doomed from the very beginning?  What if the ship was in fact haunted by evil spirits?  It's deliciously creepy, so if you're interested in trying some horror novels without diving straight in, THE DEEP might be the perfect book for you to get your toes wet in. — Emily


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

An orphanage for magical children, a cast of quirky characters, and a story that fills you with so much warmth and happiness that you wish it would never end. It's a delightful tale that gives you a much needed breath of fresh air. — Konner


Staff Pick Badge
Pretty as a Picture: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143110552
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - December 29th, 2020

I read this on the recommendation of author Chris Holm, who loved the fresh narrative structure of this novel and its unlikely protagonist and boy was he right.  It's a classic who-dun-it, but with a fun twist.  Our protagonist and hero comes in the form of a film editor.  It's an enjoyable feminist take on the procedural page-turner, but what I loved most about this book is how much I learned about the process of film editing and how a movie gets made.   It's fun and fresh, so if you're looking for a new mystery to try, this is a good one. — Emily


Staff Pick Badge
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823447176
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - February 2nd, 2021

Charlie is beautiful and smart and creative and stylish and passionate, but sometimes she loses sight of that because it feels like there is only one thing the rest of the world notices: she's fat. And how can she forget it when her best friend is so... not.

This is a book to help readers navigate difficult conversations with parents, with friends, and with themselves as they learn to embrace the love they deserve. What I wouldn't give to have known Charlie when I was her age, and I can't begin to describe the joy I feel knowing others will. — Steph


Staff Pick Badge
All Our Wrong Todays: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101985151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - February 20th, 2018

Our main character makes a big mistake at the beginning of the book and traps himself in an alternate timeline much worse than his own (hint: it's our timeline). This book is time travel mixed with just enough of a love story that it makes it perfect for any fiction reader. The strong narrative voice and time travel shenanigans create a book that's nearly impossible to put down. — Konner


Staff Pick Badge
One Last Stop Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250244499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 1st, 2021

I never wanted to live in New York before reading this book. I also never wanted to fall in love with a girl stuck in time on a grimy subway, but here we are. This lively love story of August and Jane is sure to lift your spirits and make you believe in love again (if you ever stopped). — Konner


Staff Pick Badge
My First Day Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593306260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Make Me a World - February 16th, 2021

I want to climb inside these illustrations and explore them forever. The bold colors and flowing lines bring every page alive and captures readers immediately as we follow this young student on their first day of school along the Mekong River Delta. While it offers a glimpse at an experience very different from a lot of American students, it also draws universal parallels that provides a window into another part of the world. — Steph


Staff Pick Badge
The Project: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250105738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - February 2nd, 2021

THE PROJECT delves into the complexity of being wanted and finding purpose, making readers question how far they would go to find answers and whether they can discern the truth from desires--or if they even really want to. A tale of sisterhood wrapped in a roiling bundle of anticipation, this book pulls you in quickly and doesn't look back. — Steph


Staff Pick Badge
As Many Nows as I Can Get Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525553854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 20th, 2019

Shana Youngdahl brings starkly real characters to the forefront of her debut YA novel that each have their own personal struggles and stories that are wholly unique to those individuals, yet universal to its readers. Scarlett is a deeply honest and flawed character that you'll want to follow through this non-linear, winding narrative of her experiences told through incredible prose. Difficult topics and choices are met head-on with care, heart, and respect. It's a novel that doesn't talk down to its readers that can be both for YA readers and adults alike! — Konner


York: The Shadow Cipher Cover Image
By Laura Ruby, Dave Stevenson (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062306944
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 1st, 2018

Kenny & the Dragon Cover Image
By Tony DiTerlizzi, Tony DiTerlizzi (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781442436510
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 24th, 2012

The First Rule of Punk Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780425290422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - July 17th, 2018

World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, and Other Astonishments Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781571313652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 8th, 2020

The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781683692515
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - May 25th, 2021

Ghost Wall: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250234957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - December 31st, 2019