You are here

Staff Picks

Since no one can see our staff pick shelves in person, here they are virtually. Enjoy!

Penny and Her Song (I Can Read Level 1) Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780062081971
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 21st, 2012

Greta (aged 3) can't get enough of any and all Kevin Henkes, but particularly his Penny series. Cozy and quick tellings of a little mouse and her daily doings. Simple and sweet, yet engaging. - Becca

Also featured in this series: Penny and her Doll and Penny and her Sled 


There is a Bird on Your Head! (An Elephant and Piggie Book) Cover Image
By Mo Willems, Mo Willems (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781423106869
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - September 1st, 2007

A family favorite for instant kid giggles. You can't go wrong with Mo Willems. - Becca 


Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras #1) Cover Image
By Asia Citro, Marion Lindsay (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781943147090
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Innovation Press - March 14th, 2017

Theo (aged 5) just discovered Zoey and Sassafras. A kid scientist who helps magical creatures that come to her barn for help? Count us in. Even better, Asia Citro details proper use of the scientific method in all of Zoey's experiments. - Becca

Also featured in this series: Monsters and Mold, Merhorses and Bubbles, Caterflies and Ice, The Pod and the Bog, Unicorns and Germs, Grumplets and Pests


Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants: The Questioneers Book #2 Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781419734229
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Amulet Books - April 16th, 2019

Ada Twist, Rosie Revere, Iggy Peck, and Sophia Valdez are back in Andrea Beaty's new Questioneers chapter book series and they do not disappoint! - Becca & Theo (age 5)

Also in this series: Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riviters and Iggy Peck and the Mysterious Mansion


The Beauty Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781785655746
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Titan Books - January 16th, 2018

The cover alone was enough to sell me on this dystopian novel where women have turned into fungus. Fungus! - Gracie


Girl Waits with Gun (A Kopp Sisters Novel #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780544800830
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Mariner Books - May 3rd, 2016

If you haven't gotten into Amy Stewart yet, this is a treat you must add to your quarantine reads. - Gracie


After Me Comes the Flood: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062666406
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Custom House - March 17th, 2020

 Essex Serpent was one of my favorites, and Sarah Perry's following two books have not disappointed! - Gracie


Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

I can't believe I haven't read this yet, but now that I have *more time* it is at the top of my pile! - Gracie


The Parker Inheritance (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545952781
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

A perfect summer mystery for middle grade readers about new friendship, redemption, and exposing the racist history a town would rather forget. - Steph


Her Royal Highness (Royals #2) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524738280
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2020

Millie Quint is the embodiment of all my childhood dreams of running away to a fancy boarding school in a foreign country to find yourself and find true love, and I adored every moment of her journey in HER ROYAL HIGHNESS. Every small nod to PRINCE CHARMING brought a smile to my lips, and yet Millie and Flora stand entirely on their own--a complex and developing romance trying to figure itself amidst the international pressure of crowns and tabloids. - Steph


Heartstopper: Volume 1 Cover Image
By Alice Oseman, Alice Oseman (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338617436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - May 5th, 2020

This is one of those graphic novels that I would periodically shout at whoever was closest "OH MY GOD THEY DID THIS AND SAID THAT AND AHHHH!" as I rolled around the floor in an overabundance of feelings. Everyone needs to pick it up, and I can't wait to check out Alice Oseman's YA novels soon. - Steph


The Most Fun We Ever Had: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385544252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 25th, 2019

A riveting family saga perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.  Over the course of several decades, we follow the Sorenson family: Marilyn, David and their four daughters.  A long-held secret comes to the surface in the early chapters and as novel moves forward we go back-and-forth in time to discover how we got there.  It's a beautiful exploration of love and family and my words here don't even come close to doing it justice.  It's simply marvelous. - Emily 


Long Bright River: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525540670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 7th, 2020

Two sisters in Philly.  One's a cop, the other is suffering from the opioid epidemic.  The sisters haven't spoken in months, but as bodies of known women struggling with addiction start to surface, Mickey (the cop) risks everything to find her sister.  This is a really meaty mystery, great for fans of Tana French.  - Emily


All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020

I love Emma Straub.  Similar to The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo, it's a sweeping family saga about secrets, the mistakes we make, misperceptions, and devotion. - Emily


Braised Pork Cover Image
By An Yu
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802148711
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - April 14th, 2020

If you're looking for something like THE VEGETARIAN or FEVER DREAM, this is your next book.  Jia Jia finds her husband in the bathtub, dead, and in a compromising position. He's clutching a drawing of a creature, half man/half fish that Jia Jia (an artist) becomes obsessed with finding the origins of. -Emily 


The Phantom Tollbooth Cover Image
By Norton Juster, Jules Feiffer (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780394820378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - October 12th, 1988

Alex's Staff Pick


Hurricane Season Cover Image
By Fernanda Melchor, Sophie Hughes (Translated by)
$22.95
ISBN: 9780811228039
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions - March 31st, 2020

Alex's Staff Pick


The Door (NYRB Classics) Cover Image
By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translated by), Ali Smith (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590177716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - January 27th, 2015

Alex's Staff Pick


Tell Them of Battles, Kings, and Elephants Cover Image
By Mathias Énard, Charlotte Mandell (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811228947
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions - October 29th, 2019

Alex's Staff Pick


The Heights of Macchu Picchu: A Bilingual Edition Cover Image
By Pablo Neruda, Nathaniel Tarn (Translated by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374506483
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux -

Alex's Staff Pick


The Black Cathedral: A Novel Cover Image
By Marcial Gala, Anna Kushner (Translated by)
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374118013
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 7th, 2020

Alex's Staff Pick


Healing Politics: A Doctor’s Journey into the Heart of Our Political Epidemic Cover Image
By Abdul El-Sayed, Ady Barkan (Foreword by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9781419743023
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Press - March 31st, 2020

Abdul El-Sayed, former health director for the city of Detroit, adroitly mixes memoir and policy in his new book, Healing Politics. El-Sayed's fascinating life story as a young leader in Democratic politics is compelling on its own, but the diagnosis of issues facing the American health care system and the road map for a progressive path forward to better national health make it a must-read. It's a great companion to his podcast, America Dissected, which is covering the pandemic with twice-weekly episodes. - Josh


Open Your Mouth Like a Bell Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781938912832
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Write Bloody Publishing - April 2nd, 2018

As I've been quarantined during the pandemic, I've had a really tough time focusing on longer pieces of writing. However, poetry (which is part of my daily reading intake anyway) has become a lifeline, and a rare point of focus. In her third collection, Open Your Mouth Like a Bell, Mindy Nettifee is as accessible as ever while working at the height of her powers. This work is brave, bold, courageous and candid. As she writes in the poem "Election Eve," 'Sincerity is the only currency I bring.' - Josh


What about Tomorrow?: An Oral History of Russian Punk from the Soviet Era to Pussy Riot (Punx) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781621064046
Availability: At Our Partner Warehouse - Usually Ships in 4-8 Business Days
Published: Microcosm Publishing - September 10th, 2019

When we started carrying zines and books from Oregon's Microcosm Publishing last year, they quickly became one of my favorite publishers, particularly for their punk ethos and bold editorial choices. What About Tomorrow hits both those points, covering the history of punk music in Russia from its genesis in the late 70s to today. My favorite format for music writing may be oral history, and What About Tomorrow occupies a nice place in music writing alongside Please Kill Me and Everybody Loves Our Town. I'll admit to ignorance of the punk scene (or, really, any music scene) in Russia before reading Herbert's book, and it's a fascinating chunk of history. - Josh


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Beauty in Breaking: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525537380
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Riverhead Books - July 7th, 2020

In her debut work, emergency room physician Michele Harper puts readers in the scrubs of an African American woman in a profession that is overwhelmingly male and white. Harper writes with stunning beauty, and imparts lessons learned from her work - and specifically from ten of her patients - through her career. The clever structure lets the author address discrete issues, from sexism and profiling to poverty and health case system issues, head on and with detail. - Josh